Global Business & Interfaith Peace Awards


The Global Business & Interfaith Peace Awards salute CEOs committed to advancing interfaith understanding and peace worldwide. These global awards are presented biannually by the Religious Freedom & Business Foundation (RFBF)  in cooperation with the UN Global Compact (UNGC) on the eve of the Summer and Winter Paralympics. Previous CEO nominees and recipients come from companies as diverse as Ernst & Young (EY), Hyundai, Kimberly, Berkshire Capital, and kathy ireland Worldwide.

The 2021 Awards will be held in Tokyo as well as virtually on 24 August 2021, which coincides with the opening of the Summer Paralympic Games and final day of Dare to Overcome, a global business, arts, film, and peace festival in support of the Paralympic Movement and people with disabilities.

This is the third biannual Global Business & Interfaith Peace Awards. The inaugural awards were given the day before the opening of the Rio Paralympics in 2016. The 2018 Awards were held the day before the opening of the PyeongChang Winter Paralympics. At the 2018 Awards, awardees held high level meetings on Korean peace at the Presidential Blue House and with the Mayor of Seoul. Delegates from the conference were also welcomed by senior politicians at the Korean National Assembly (Parliament), where RFBF President Brian Grim was awarded the Main Prize at the World Peace Prize Ceremony.

– Ban Ki-moon (former UN Sec. Gen.) gives keynote

This pioneering peace initiative was started by RFBF and as a collaboration with the the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC). The Awards began after H.E. Ban Ki-moon established the Business for Peace platform in 2013 within the UNGC, the world’s largest corporate member organization committed to the Sustainable Development Goals, which notably include SGD 16 (Peace) “Promoting peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, providing access to justice for all and building effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.”

Tokyo 2021: August 22,23,24

The Awards salute concrete and innovative actions taken to advance interfaith understanding and peace. Nominees must have launched or spearheaded policies, programs or initiatives that contributed to increasing interfaith understanding and peace in the workplace, marketplace and/or local communities. The awards recognize business leaders – current or past CEOs – who have demonstrated leadership in championing interfaith understanding and peace in one of the following 4 categories:

  • – Core Business
  • – Social Investment and Philanthropy
  • – Advocacy and Public Policy Engagement
  • – Partnerships and Collective Action

To nominate a CEO:

Complete the 2020 Global Awards Nomination Form and email the form and/or direct questions to

  • Deadline: closed.